Meal Plan Monday

I am going to keep this brief as it’s been a long day, I am getting sick, and I am ready for bed! 

Next week’s meals have been adapted a bit from what I initally planned because last week’s menu was a disrupted due to different activities and the need to be out of the house at dinner time, but we will make it work and hopefully get back on track as we shift into fall.

Monday: French toast bake. Practically dessert for dinner. I cube up a loaf of french bread and set aside. Then I cook up a caramel sauce on the stove top made with butter and sugar, vanilla and cinnamon. The caramel is poured on the bottom of a 9×13 pan then topped with the bread. Then, I pour a standard french toast custard made with milk and eggs over the top and let sit overnight. When we are ready the whole pan goes into the oven to bake up and the results are delicious!
Tuesday: Spaghetti with garlic bread and a side salad
Wednesday: Salmon cooked in the oven with lemon juice and olive oil. We will probably have a green veggie on the side
Thursday: Meatloaf. This is actually already cooked and in my freezer ready to go. My favorite meatloaf “recipe” calls for 1 lb. of elk burger and 1 lb. of turkey burger combined with 2 cups sautéed veggies (onions, peppers, mushrooms, spinach…) a package of stuffing mix (any variety) 2 eggs, and some type of sauce (enchilada, BBQ, salsa…) then I mush it all together and form into softball sized portions in jumbo muffin tins. I bake these all up and place the cooled portions In a large ziploc bag to be enjoyed quickly when the mood for comfort food strikes.
Friday: Pizza roll! I roll out a ball of my homemade pizza dough and top with mozarella and salami then roll up and bake. When it’s cooked and melty  I slice and serve with pizza sauce and ranch. Perfect for a movie night!
Saturday: We will be having chicken, mushroom, and broccoli stir fry with a side of rice. Recipe to come!
Sunday: Chicken parm served with another green salad.

Looks like a pretty good line up to me! Not as many (or any!) leftover nights planned but the meals I do have planned don’t make a ton so I don’t think I have to worry quite as much about extras sitting in my fridge.

I hope everyone had a great weekend. The days here have been beautiful but I can feel these last warm days slipping as the nights get colder. It’s nice to actually have a beautiful, colorful, fall this year but I know that four letter white word is on its way!

Good night, all!!

Leave a Reply

