Ipsy Glam Bag Review: September

Soooo, I received my second Glam Bag from Ipsy this month. This is my second month on this beauty subscription and I gotta say…I’m going to give it maybe 1 or 2 more months but I am sure hoping these get better! I feel like the initial profile survey I took should have been fairly accurate to match up with my beauty preferences but so far I have not been wowed. Maybe I should retake it???

JCat Beauty #MOTD Waterproof Slide on Pencil - Bronze
JCat Beauty #MOTD Waterproof Slide on Pencil – Bronze

This month I received a beautiful eye pencil in a pretty copper color. I was super excited to try this out on my eyes but when I swatched the pencil on my hand the tip broke off immediately and it was very difficult to sharpen due to the plastic casing around the product and the pencil its self was hard and dry, not very usable.

My second product was a eyebrow gel that I was pretty excited about, however, if I had not recently colored my hair much darker, I would not have been able to use this as the shade is quite dark.

Elizabeth Mott Queen of the Fill Tinted Brow Gel
Elizabeth Mott Queen of the Fill Tinted Brow Gel

Next, I received some mascara. Nothing special, just black mascara. It’s a decent brush and formulation. I like other mascaras more but I’ll use this…it does the job.

City Color Cosmetics Be Bold 3x Extreme Volume Mascara
City Color Cosmetics Be Bold 3x Extreme Volume Mascara

Before you  actually receive your Glam Bag in the mail you get a chance to check out what you are getting. Of course, you can leave it a surprise but I’m far too impatient for that so of course every month I check out what I’ll be getting and I was happy to see an eye shadow trio was coming my way and the colors were nice bronzy, wearable, perfect-for-fall shades. I immediately swatched the shadows on the back of my hand and was sadly disappointed in the formulation. The shadows were dry and not

NYX Cosmetics Ipsy Eye Shadow Trio
NYX Cosmetics Ipsy Eye Shadow Trio

very pigmented at all. I’ve never used a NYX shadow before but typically I really like their products. From reading some Ipsy reviews on this month’s products I fear NYX’s quality many have taken a dive when they teamed up with Ipsy to offer a “specialty / custom” product for Ipsy subscribers.

Lastly, my favorite product from this month’s Glam Bag was a bright green face mask. I’ve used many masks but this one was different…it has an amazing warming quality to it while it’s on your skin. I’ve even tried other “warming” masks where the heated sensation fades after just a few seconds. This one stayed very warm the whole 20 minutes I had it on my skin and I even felt a warm sensation after rinsing for a period of time. The warmth was not too intense but it was heated enough to make me feel like I was really getting a benefit out of it. When I rinsed it off my face my skin was smooth and comfortable.

So Fresh So Clean Green Tea Wash-Off Mask
So Fresh So Clean Green Tea Wash-Off Mask

One of the major issues I have with Ipsy is that IF you get a product that you love and would like to repurchase it’s hard to track down many of these items locally as the brands are not recognizable or readily available in most areas (at least mine!). I may consider purchasing this mask in a full size but I am not willing to go on a treasure hunt to find it.

That’s it on this review. Still underwhelmed with the whole subscription and I keep asking myself if it’s worth it. I mean, it’s only $10 a month BUT that adds up to $120 per year and I can get some great beauty products with that money over time; items I’ve actually handpicked for myself and know I will like. Stay tuned….

Leave a Reply

