Meal Planning Monday…er, Tuesday

Well, I’m back from a nice long Labor day weekend. I hope everyone was able to take advantage of the extra long time off and do something truly enjoyable. I was home with my 3 kiddos while my hubby went on a weekend backpacking / hunting trip so the kids and I watched several movies, played at the playground, and at McDonalds and ice cream for dinner plus I scrubbed my house within an inch of its life. I am one of those strange people that actually don’t mind cleaning. I love the end results so much that it makes my time and elbow grease well worth it. When I get an extended time frame to get more done at once I really like to dig in and maybe get some of those deep cleaning jobs that get missed tackled.

For this week’s Meal Plan we are having the following delicious dinners:

Weekend update: We scrapped the pizza idea and went with nachos instead. I cooked up some hamburger with taco seasoning and topped some of our favorite chips by Food Should Taste Goodchips

with shredded cheese, black beans, corn, and taco meat then baked in the oven until the cheese was melted. I served up heaping helpings with diced avocado, sour cream, and salsa. I also love these family pleasing nachos with shredded chicken.

Monday: Tonight we’ll do the Brown Sugar Meatballs I mentioned last week. With my husband gone I tend to slack off on the meal plan…it’s no fun to cook up an “official” dinner when he’s not here to share with us so we typically stick to more kid friendly, easy-to-make, foods.

Tuesday: Taco Salad is on the menu. I’ll use some of our cooked taco meat and make something similar to our nachos but use lettuce instead of chips. For the dressing I like to mix salsa with ranch to make a spicy cool dressing that’s just right for this salad.

Wednesday: Tonight we’ll be making my daughter, McKenna’s, favorite: alfredo! She loves penne pasta with grilled chicken, broccoli, and creamy alfredo sauce.  I like to serve this with a salad and breadsticks or garlic bread.

Thursday: I’m doing something sweet for dinner with crepes. I love making these thin little pancakes and filling them with slices strawberries and sweetened cream cheese or Nutella and whipped cream. We’ll probably round out the meal with a side of eggs and sausage.

Friday: is a leftover night…

Saturday: This was the night I’d planned nachos so since I’ve used those ingredients up we’ll do homemade pizza instead.

Sunday: I’m going to try a new recipe for this Hawaiian Baked Chicken. I love the combination of sweet and salty when adding fruit to chicken or pork.

Looks like a good line up for tasty dinners for this week!

Leave a Reply

