Meal Planning Monday

It’s Monday and the start of the first full school week of school.  For this weeks “Meal Planning Monday” I’m going to share what’s on our menu this week!

This weekend we had a spaghetti feast with salad and the MOST delicious  cheesy garlic bread (just like this), as well as this amazing Brown Sugar and Garlic Barbecue Chicken. I was a little nervous about how the flavors of garlic and brown sugar would pair but it was quite good! I served with a side of sautéed green beans and leftover (I can’t believe there were leftovers!!) cheesy bread.

Easy-Garlic-Bread-from-CrunchyCreamySweet_com_brown sugar garlic BBQ chicken

As I mentioned in my post last week, I always include 2 leftover days a week, so tonight we’ll be using one of those up. Typically, I use this night as an opportunity to use up the odds and ends in the fridge. We sometimes end up with some interesting combinations on our plates but it’s always good and I feel so much more organized when I can get all those leftover containers off the shelves!

Tuesday, I am planning to cook up some salmon we have in the freezer. I’ve found that the easiest way for me to cook salmon or other kinds of fish is to put it on a piece of parchment on a baking sheet (easy clean up!) and cook at about 400 degrees for 15 minutes or until the fish is opaque and flaky. Then I add a dash of olive oil or a small pat of butter and a dash of lemon juice to each and serve. I occasionally get crazy and add a few sprinkles of Cajun seasoning but usually my fish prep is very simple.

Wednesday, I’m going to make a batch of chicken enchiladas. This will be something I prep at lunchtime (cut and cook chicken, toss with cheese, wrap in tortillas) and then bake when we get home with enchilada sauce poured over the top.

Thursday, will be my version of Greek chicken. I’ll marinate chicken tenders in Greek yogurt, lemon juice, garlic, and dill and then grill. I love serving this meal with extra yogurt sauce and flatbread on the side. Sometimes I even add chopped cucumber to the sauce for a cool refreshing dip.

Fridays are our when we try to do something fun for dinner…it’s just a nice way to end the week and we usually eat in front of a movie with the kids on their “picnic blanket” on the floor or go out to dinner. I am using up another “leftover / unplanned” day and we will most likely grab takeout before starting our movie or make brownies to have with ice cream for dessert.

This weekend I am planning to make homemade pizza. (I always keep balls of pizza dough in the freezer for making pizza, flatbread, or cinnamon breadsticks…and making our pizza homemade allows for custom topped pizza with much faster delivery time!) I’ll also be making these delicious brown sugar glazed turkey meatballs. These are oh so yummy!! I love to serve them over white rice with broccoli on the side and I always double the sauce ingredients…trust me, you’ll be glad you did!

Brown-Sugar-Meatballs

Well, that’s it for this week. Looks pretty yummy! Have a good week everyone!

Leave a Reply

